Senior Leadership Fellows

The Senior Leadership Fellows program brings distinguished public sector leaders who have worked at the highest levels of government and promoted, during their time in office, creative and innovative public policies that strengthened the free enterprise system and enhanced individual freedom and human prosperity. These fellows will be in residence at FIU for one semester and will lead not-for-credit seminars and study groups on salient topics based on their experience. They will also participate in talks and other events, be available to meet with and mentor students, and serve as a resource for the entire University community.

The following distinguished public servants will be the Senior Leadership Fellows for the Spring term, 2024.

Spring 2024 Senior Leadership Fellows

Francisco Barbosa

Former Attorney General of Colombia

Guillermo Lasso

Former President of Ecuador

Kimberly Reed

Former Chairman, Export-Import Bank of the United States (EXIM)

Carlos Vecchio

Former Ambassador of Venezuela to the United States

Fall 2023 Senior Leadership Fellows

Jamil Mahuad

Former President of Ecuador

Juan Guaidó

Former Interim President of Venezuela

Robin Bernstein

Former United States Ambassador to the Dominican Republic

Miomir Žužul

Former Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of Croatia

Spring 2023 Senior Leadership Fellows

Eduardo Frei Ruiz-Tagle

Former President of the Republic of Chile

Álvaro Uribe Vélez

Former President of the Republic of Colombia

Kiron K. Skinner

Former United States Director of Policy Planning

Fawzia Koofi

Politician and Human Rights Advocate

Fall 2022 Senior Leadership Fellows

Iván Duque Márquez

Former President of the Republic of Colombia

Ava Rossana Guevara

Former Vice President of the Republic of Honduras

Paula J. Dobriansky

Ambassador, Foreign Policy Expert, and Former Diplomat

Spring 2022 Senior Leadership Fellows

Mauricio Macri

Former President of the Argentine Republic

Raúl Melara Morán

Former Attorney General of the Republic of El Salvador

Nicolás Monckeberg Díaz

Former Ambassador of Chile in Argentina

Loretta Sánchez

Former United States Congresswoman

Fall 2021 Senior Leadership Fellows

Lenín Moreno Garcés

Former President of the Republic of Ecuador

Francisco Santos Calderón

Former Ambassador of Colombia to the United States

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

Former United States Congresswoman